Screenprinting – Day one.

On Wednesday I started my screenprinting course at East London Printmakers and it was FANTASTIC! I came out of it feeling so excited and inspired, I can’t wait to get into it again this week. The course is three days with the first two days learning techniques and the third doing a project of our own under guidance of Ann Norfield the lovely woman running this particular course.

In the morning of the first day we learnt the very basics of how to print, we played with different colours and printed through a rectangle to give us a background. Then we did a quick sketch in black inks and in the afternoon we learnt how to develop the sketch onto the screens before printing those designs onto our backgrounds from the morning.

Here is my batch! Not bad for a first days work, I’m really looking forward to seeing what we can produce with a little more planning. The course was made all the more wonderful by being taught and attended by a really friendly and interesting bunch of people, it makes such a huge difference.

IMG_6542IMG_6543FullSizeRender (2)
3 comments

    1. You’ve re-learnt how to comment! Thank you, I was so glad they came out well – I think I would have cried if I’d forced myself to stay at the course all day and they’d come out crap!!

Leave a Reply

