Dungaree making

On Saturday thanks to a little push from Husband dearest I finally got started on my dungarees! I went on a one day pattern making course early last year and made my own dungaree pattern. It is very basic and will need a lot of work to make the perfect dungarees (which of course is the End Game) but it’s a start. So come Saturday morning I had a quick scout on the internet for a local cheap fabric shop and came across this fantastic blog post, which pointed me in the direction of Dalson Fabric Mill and OH MY GOD IT IS AMAZING! What looks like a tiny shop front opens up through clear plastic butcher-style door flaps into the most enormous fabric shop I have ever seen! Endless rolls of fabric piled from floor to ceiling along with all manner of Haberdashery, lace, feathers etc. a real treat for the eyes! Tragically I was there to buy rather dull fabric but I still felt like a child in a sweetshop.

DSC08778
DSC08777
DSC08776
I came home with a few meters of cotton twill in red and blue and spent the afternoon pinning and cutting, I haven’t managed much sewing yet but I have started and it’s going well so far! As always I shall keep you updated with it’s progress.
DSC08781 DSC08782 DSC08787 DSC08793 DSC08794

Leave a Reply

